Monday, July 10, 2017

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery


Title: Anne of Green Gables
Author: L.M. Montgomery
Genre: Classic, Children's
Publication: June 1908

My Rating: 5/5

When Anne Shirley arrives at Green Gables farm on Prince Edward Island, she surprises everyone: first of all, she is a girl. Marilla Cuthbert and her brother, Matthew, had specifically asked for an orphan boy. She has bright red hair that won't manage and a mouth that won't shut. Nothing will ever be the same at Green Gables!

A favorite story of generations of girls ever since it was first published in 1908, Lucy Maud Montgomery's classic story of one girl's profound effect on a small Canadian community has stayed in print for nearly one hundred years and has been made into a popular TV series and even a musical.



Sunday, June 18, 2017

The Law of Attraction by Roxie Cooper


Title: The Law of Attraction
Author: Roxie Cooper
Publisher: HQ Digital
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary Publication: June 23, 2007

My Rating: 3/5

"Well, it's fair to say your background isn't conventional in terms of the average barrister…" Dolus points out. "Well that depends on your definition of conventional and who wants to be average anyway?"

Northern girl Amanda Bentley isn’t your average lawyer.


She spent her teenage years in the Working Men’s club and hanging out in the park to avoid going home. Fresh out of law school she lands pupillage at a top set of Chambers and is catapulted into a world completely alien to her own, fighting prejudice and snobbery at every turn.

Piling on the pressure, this year it is announced two candidates have been accepted but there’s only one job at the end of it. And her competition? Marty, her smarmy law school nemesis.

Throw into the mix an ill-advised romance with the staggeringly sexy Sid Ryder and Amanda quickly realises winning pupillage isn’t just about how good a lawyer you are.

But even if she does come out on top, all of it could be for nothing if her colleagues ever discover who she really is and one very dark secret.

Perfect for fans of Legally Blonde, Lindsey Kelk and Joanna Bolouri. Don't miss this hilarious new ebook!



Sunday, June 4, 2017

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead


Title: Vampire Academy
Author: Richelle Mead
Publisher: Razorbill
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal
Publication: August 16, 2007

My Rating: 3/5


Only a true best friend can protect you from your immortal enemies...

Lissa Dragomir is a Moroi princess: a mortal vampire with a rare gift for harnessing the earth's magic. She must be protected at all times from Strigoi; the fiercest vampires - the ones who never die. The powerful blend of human and vampire blood that flows through Rose Hathaway, Lissa's best friend, makes her a dhampir. Rose is dedicated to a dangerous life of protecting Lissa from the Strigoi, who are hell-bent on making Lissa one of them.

After two years of freedom, Rose and Lissa are caught and dragged back to St. Vladimir's Academy, a school for vampire royalty and their guardians-to-be, hidden in the deep forests of Montana. But inside the iron gates, life is even more fraught with danger... and the Strigoi are always close by.

Rose and Lissa must navigate their dangerous world, confront the temptations of forbidden love, and never once let their guard down, lest the evil undead make Lissa one of them forever...


Thursday, May 18, 2017

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell


Title: Attachments
Author: Rainbow Rowell
Publisher: Dutton
Genre: Contemporary
Publication: April 04, 2011

My Rating: 3/5

"Hi, I'm the guy who reads your e-mail, and also, I love you..." 

Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder know that somebody is monitoring their work e-mail. (Everybody in the newsroom knows. It's company policy.) But they can't quite bring themselves to take it seriously. They go on sending each other endless and endlessly hilarious e-mails, discussing every aspect of their personal lives.

Meanwhile, Lincoln O'Neill can't believe this is his job now- reading other people's e-mail. When he applied to be "internet security officer," he pictured himself building firewalls and crushing hackers- not writing up a report every time a sports reporter forwards a dirty joke.

When Lincoln comes across Beth's and Jennifer's messages, he knows he should turn them in. But he can't help being entertained-and captivated-by their stories.

By the time Lincoln realizes he's falling for Beth, it's way too late to introduce himself.


Saturday, May 6, 2017

Gametalk: Final Fantasy XV

Image Source

Enroute to wed his fiancée Luna on a road trip with his best friends, Prince Noctis is advised by news reports that his homeland has been invaded and taken over under the false pretense of a peace treaty – and that he, his loved one and his father King Regis, have been slain at the hands of the enemy.

To gather the strength needed to uncover the truth and reclaim his homeland, Noctis and his loyal companions must overcome a series of challenges in a spectacular open world - that is filled with larger-than-life creatures, amazing wonders, diverse cultures and treacherous foes. (source)


Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Wonder Woman: Her Greatest Battles by Various


Title: Wonder Woman: Her Greates Battles
Author: Geoff Johns, Greg Rucka, George Pérez, Gail Simone, Johny Byrne, Jim Lee, Cliff Chiang
Publisher: Quillfire Publishing
Genre: Comic, Action
Publication: February 14, 2017

My Rating: 3/5

Source: Publisher on NetGalley

The perfect companion piece to 2017’s highly anticipated film Wonder Woman is here. With the powers of a god and the fighting spirit of an Amazon, Wonder Woman is Earth’s fiercest defender. On Themyscira, Diana was trained from birth to be a warrior. Her skills in battle are unmatched, as are her bullet-stopping bracelets and Lasso of Truth. Now, relive her greatest triumphs!

In these stories from such top-tier comics talents as Greg Rucka, George Pérez, John Byrne, Brian Azzarello, Cliff Chiang and Gail Simone, the Amazing Amazon must use every ounce of her strength and steel to bring down gods, monsters and—when mind-controlling villains take control—even her friends. Collects WONDER WOMAN #6, #119, #210, #219; WONDER WOMAN #41; JUSTICE LEAGUE: PART THREE #3; WONDER WOMAN #23.


Sunday, April 16, 2017

The Mad Countess by Erica Monroe



Title: The Mad Countess (Darkest Regency #1)
Author: Erica Monroe
Publisher: Quillfire Publishing
Genre: Historical Fiction, Paranormal, Romance
Publication: March 21, 2017

My Rating: 4/5

Source: Publisher on NetGalley

When two best friends become lovers, their scandalous path to happily ever after is fraught with danger in this emotional, Gothic novella from USA Today Bestselling Author Erica Monroe.

Theodore Lockwood, Earl of Ashbrooke, has been in love with his best friend, Lady Claire Deering, for as long as he can remember. Claire too harbors a secret desire for him--but a witch cursed her family with madness, and she's terrified she'll only hurt him if they act on their feelings. When a will reading at a mysterious castle in Cornwall brings them both together on All Hallows Eve, they'll work to break her family's curse...and find true love.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...