Wednesday, April 27, 2016

Bob's Burgers: Well Done by Loren Bouchard, Jeff Drake, Tom Connor, Anthony Aguinaldo, Frank Forte, Ben Dickerson


Title: Bob's Burgers: Well Done
Author: Loren Bouchard, Jeff Drake, Tom Connor, Anthony Aguinaldo, Frank Forte, Ben Dickerson
Publisher: Dynamite Entertainment
Genre: Comic, Humor
Publication: March 15, 2016

My Rating: 4/5

Source: Publisher on NetGalley

Satisfy your hunger for the red hot Bob's Burgers with this sizzling new collection, served well done! Written and illustrated by the fine folks at the Emmy Award-winning studio Bento Box Entertainment, these Belcher Family shenanigans are guaranteed to delight fans of all ages. Thrill to Louise's investigation into a pest control problem, Tina's fanciful pursuit of Jimmy Pesto's heart, and Gene's imaginative reimagining of a maritime classic! The Belcher parents Bob and Linda also join in on the fun, alongside dozens of your favorite cast members. Bon appetit!


Monday, April 25, 2016

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge


Title: Cruel Beauty (Cruel Beauty Universe #1)
Author: Rosamund Hodge
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Fairy Tale, Romance, Retelling, Mythology
Publication: January 1, 2014

My Rating: 3.5/5

Based on the classic fairy tale Beauty and the Beast, Cruel Beauty is a dazzling love story about our deepest desires and their power to change our destiny.

Since birth, Nyx has been betrothed to the evil ruler of her kingdom-all because of a foolish bargain struck by her father. And since birth, she has been in training to kill him.

With no choice but to fulfill her duty, Nyx resents her family for never trying to save her and hates herself for wanting to escape her fate. Still, on her seventeenth birthday, Nyx abandons everything she's ever known to marry the all-powerful, immortal Ignifex. Her plan? Seduce him, destroy his enchanted castle, and break the nine-hundred-year-old curse he put on her people.

But Ignifex is not at all what Nyx expected. The strangely charming lord beguiles her, and his castle—a shifting maze of magical rooms—enthralls her.

As Nyx searches for a way to free her homeland by uncovering Ignifex's secrets, she finds herself unwillingly drawn to him. Even if she could bring herself to love her sworn enemy, how can she refuse her duty to kill him? With time running out, Nyx must decide what is more important: the future of her kingdom, or the man she was never supposed to love.


Thursday, April 21, 2016

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas


Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Fairy Tale, Action, Romance, Retelling
Publication: May 5, 2015

My Rating: 5/5

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it... or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!


Sunday, April 17, 2016

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (2016)


Pride and Prejudice and Zombies is, like the title suggests, a retelling of the classic Pride and Prejudice, but with zombies. It's based on the novel of the same title by Seth-Grahame Smith, which follows the same events we see in the original story, but people have come to learn the art of combat, to protect themselves against the undead.

Saturday, April 16, 2016

Gotham Academy, Vol. 2: Calamity by Becky Cloonan, Brenden Fletcher, Karl Kerschl


Title: Gotham Academy, Vol. 2: Calamity
Author: Becky Cloonan, Brenden Fletcher, Karl Kerschl
Publisher: DC Comics
Genre: Comic, Action, Mystery, Paranormal, Young Adult
Publication: March 16, 2016

My Rating: 3/5

Source: Publisher on NetGalley

Olive has received information that her mother might be alive—and now, she and her friends must investigate! Of course werewolves, ghosts, and new student Damian Wayne won’t make it easy!

Welcome to Gotham Academy! Gotham City's most prestigious prep school is a very weird place. It's got a spooky campus, oddball teachers, and rich benefactors always dropping by... like that weirdo Bruce Wayne. But nothing is as strange as the students! Are these Gotham's newest heroes... or villains? The future is here at Gotham Academy.

GOTHAM ACADEDMY Vol. 2 digs deeper into the mysteries that surround the prestigious school and the characters that inhabit it.

Collects issues #7-12 and the sneak peek story from DC SNEAK PEEK: GOTHAM ACADEMY #1.


Tuesday, April 12, 2016

Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout


Title: Obsidian (Lux #1)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy
Publication: November 29, 2011

My Rating: 2/5

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.


Sunday, April 10, 2016

Snoopy: Party Animal by Charles M. Schulz


Title: Snoopy: Party Animal
Author: Charles M. Schulz
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Genre: Comic, Humor, Children's
Publication: March 22, 2016

My Rating: 5/5

Source: Publisher on NetGalley

Party with Snoopy and all your other friends from the Peanuts world in this collection of classic cartoons for kids!

Snoopy may only live in a doghouse, but he sure knows how to throw a party! Everyone’s stopping by for the fun in this new AMP! Peanuts collection. Who’s on the guest list? Charlie Brown, Lucy, Linus? You betcha! Even some birds, bunnies, and a friendly snowman join the party. But here’s the best part . . . you’re invited too! Yup, that’s right. Just make sure you don’t forget to bring Snoopy his supper on time.

In this new collection the old gang is back at it with fun, adventures, and . . . a cat? Good grief! Check in with all your favorite Peanuts friends in this new addition, Snoopy: Party Animal. Don’t forget your party hats!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...