Friday, April 22, 2016

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas


Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's
Genre: New Adult, Fantasy, Fairy Tale, Action, Romance, Retelling
Publication: May 5, 2015

My Rating: 5/5

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it... or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!


I seriously can't believe I waited so long to read this book!

Sarah J. Maas created an amazing world here, I just forgot how good this woman is! What an entertaining story.


Ugh now I need to keep reading the Throne of Glass series where I left off. What am I even doing with my life??

This book has a little touch of everything: fantasy, action, romance, and it was very difficult for me to put down. The history behind it all, how humans were slaves and how after a war the faeries kept to the north of a wall and the humans to the south, and all those High Lords of the different courts having these great powers and caring for their people... Then that blight starting to take over... Amazing. Just amazing.

I have to say that I loved pretty much everything about the story, but there's one thing I didn't like, and that's Calanmai (Fire Night). Tamlin, as High Lord of the Spring Court, has to perform a ritual. I don't want to spoil things for people who haven't read this, so I'm not going to say anything more about it. But I guess I moved on after a while, there's just so much going on in this book that you just stop thinking about Calanmai.

I also have a favorite part! :) Even though the best part of the book for me is when they're Under The Mountain (so much tension and blood and action and amazing things), I really enjoyed when Tamlin plays his music and Feyre dances to it, it felt like a fairy tale and very magical.

And I really loved Feyre, she's smart, strong as hell and I usually liked the choices she made (and she likes to paint! ♥). I liked Tamlin, he's very kind and always there to protect Feyre whenever she needed it. And I also liked them together, but, for some reason, I don't think there was too much chemistry between them. I don't know, there was a little something missing, but they go through a lot to be together and end the curse, so I think it's only right that things work out for them in the end, right?

Oh and Lucien definitely made things more entertaining, I loved that he lived in the house as well.

There's also Rhysand. I read a lot of reviews where people were saying how much they loved him. While I was reading the book I didn't understand what these people meant, he just shows up a couple of times and he's not that great. But then, when they go Under The Mountain, I started to see why he has so many fans.

He's awful, I know. But hey, he did help her out. And she would not have made it through all those things she did if he hadn't given her a hand, let's be honest. His "deal" with Feyre is very interesting, I can't wait to see what happens next. Especially after their last meeting in the book.

If I had to choose between the two love interests... Hmm well, I know for sure that Tamlin is better and he's very adorable, they also go through a lot to prove their love to each other, like I mentioned, although I just hope that the Calanmai ritual changes now, because if not, I want her gone from his side.


Rhysand is more interesting, but he's a bad guy (like, wicked bad), we see the things he does to her while they're Under The Mountain and it's not pretty, although I still don't know how much of that was done in order to protect her or distract her. Aaand, again, there's that last meeting between him and Feyre... I'm just going to wait and see what happens.

Oh and I couldn't stand her family, for real, she was doing all the work and they would barely lift a finger. They're useless and ungrateful, especially Nesta and her dad. I've seen many people say that they redeemed themselves, but I never saw it.

And dude. Come on! She cared for them and they never even taught her how to read!!

This broke my heart. This is what made me feel so bad for her. She never learned how to read. She even struggles to read a children's book!

Would someone please teach this girl how to read??! Or, girl! Teach yourself! You had so much free time after Tamlin took you to Prythian... Still, heartbreaking.


I can't wait to read the next book! And since it took me so long to finally read this one, I won't have to wait too much for the sequel to come out, hurray!!


Have you read this book or the Throne of Glass series?

Thank you for reading! Bye-Bye! 

16 comments:

  1. Yay, I'm so glad you enjoyed this! I absolutely love it. It's a good thing you finished it now, since the next book is coming out very soon! You won't have to wait as long as the rest of us have ;)
    Great review!
    Erika @ Books, Stars, and the Pages in Between

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes! I'm really excited to read the sequel :D Good thing there's not that much time left till it comes out ^-^

      Delete
  2. Great post. x

    www.themakeupaficionado.com

    ReplyDelete
  3. Seems like this book could do no wrong at all! I have yet to read anything by this author but I am pretty crazy about retellings so of course I do want to dive into this one book at some point. I really like the sound of all of this - the characters, the action, even the romance interests who you chose between :3

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Sarah J Maas is a really good author! :) I hope you enjoy this if you get the chance to read it :D

      Delete
  4. Your blog is so lovely, I love the design! This sounds like a great read, I'm actually looking for a great book to get me back in to fiction again :D it sounds really gripping! Now following you on GFC :D xx

    elizabeth ♡ ”Ice Cream” whispers Clara | (doing follow for follow on bloglovin or instagram)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you, that's so nice of you!! ^-^ And thank you so much for the support!

      Delete
  5. Loved reading this! Please check out my latest hair tutorial on how to wave with a flat iron!

    Kisses xo | From Aliona With Love

    Instagram @alionawithlove

    Twitter @alionawithlove

    ReplyDelete
  6. OMG what a great review Carla! I need to read this book!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you Miranda! I think you might really enjoy this book :D

      Delete
  7. Great review!!! I love this one so much. I can't wait for the next one. :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks! I'm really excited about reading the sequel :D

      Delete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...